22

02/03/2010

BIRTHDAY HIGHLIGHT #1:

From YJ, via Andrew (plus flowers). Hahaha!

x

22 is such an odd age. I don’t quite know what to make of it.

All I know is that I am getting older, and that is not a comforting thought :(

Today (i.e. second day of my non-existent birthday) was spent with girlfriends on the rooftop at Cafe 211.  Yesterday was spent with the uni bunch (ironically most of them aren’t even in uni anymore!) having the craziest Karaoke session ever.

I know I’ve said this many times but I’m so grateful for friends. They really bring the God-given little joys of life :)

x

Another year to live, breathe, and make a difference. So many things have changed since my last birthday. Thinking about it all now is so humbling and mind-boggling.

I’d do it all again in a heartbeat, though. I wouldn’t have changed anything at all.

x

Last year during one of the Sunday Suppers in Ihouse, there was a performance of the The Negro National Hymn. I will always be indebted to Ihouse for giving me the most valuable experiences and opportunities of being able to appreciate different cultures, people, and their life; for widening my view of this world and this life that I live; for the privilege of learning, respecting, and embracing others. YJ and I always say that only people from Ihouse get real sensitive about  “culture” and “appreciating different cultures”. To others, its mostly just words and an academic concept. To us, we lived and breathed “culture” every single day for five months.

I still remember us being asked to stand out of respect for the anthem, and holding the lyrics in my hand, I was mesmerized by the powerful words and rich context in which they were penned. So moving, so real, and so true.

God of our weary years,
God of our silent tears,
thou who has brought us thus far along the way,
thou who has by thy might led us into the light,
keep us forever in the path, we pray,
lest our feet stray from the places, our God, where we met thee,
lest our hearts, drunk with the wine of the world, we forget thee.
Shadowed beneath thy hand may we forever stand
– true to thee, O God, and true to our native land.

x

Amen.

Leave a Reply

