2009

01/01/2010

My 2009 was a year of experiences.

2009.

I left 21 years of life behind, found a home in a rustic building on top of a hill, met people from all over the world, laughed, cried, drank, sang, danced, talked, ate, shared my life with all of them, celebrated my 21st birthday in the most perfect company away from home, traveled to countless cities, stood speechless in front of God’s magnificent creation over and over, learnt to forgive and let go, learnt to take chances, had endless conversations that humbled myself to understand issues from another’s perspective, fell in love, fought so hard for something for the first time in my life.

I think I carried that spirit back when I came home. I learnt new skills, finished things I started, cut my hair short even though I swore I’d never do it again since 2001. I was more open to doing New things, out of my comfort zone. And even though it was hard adjusting back, and there were times when I felt so absolutely helpless & misunderstood, I rejoice in the fact that in those times of weakness, I could depend on God’s grace & strength alone to pull myself together.

At the end of it, I had no answers at all. No answers to all the questions that came along the way, about life, love, happiness, or relationships with friends and family. Just a sense of peace, founded upon the fundamental promises in His Word.

x

2009, I stripped away all the arbitrary preferences that I had grown up with, and started to dig out my core convictions of life.

2009, I cried more than the past few years put together.

And this is my final say on the year that has passed, and one that sums it up so perfectly:

2009, I lived. I didn’t just float through the year on practices, activities and beliefs taken for granted like before. I really lived. And God knows I am infinitely grateful that I was given the privilege and opportunity to.

x

2010. After the past year, I really don’t know what to expect.

Leave a Reply

