Jackie-o!

20/09/2009

This post is dedicated to my first and potentially last roommate ever in my life,

JACQUELINE SEAH :)

3226_179205315340_821950340_6853253_3543306_n.jpg_effected

For the past week (and ongoing!) we have been telepathically catching each other on gmail chat everytime I log on. We then progress to either have

1. very meaningless and laughoutloud (I refuse to use LOL you can’t make me) conversations or

2. very serious and intense conversations about certain issues/getting your psychologist mode on!

So today I realised, I MISS YOU JACKIE!! AND OUR AWESOME #747!! I cannot imagine having any other roommate and making it out of Berkeley alive (imagine if the original G was my roommate. We would have clawed each other to the death.)

I shall now dedicate this prose to you.

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways..

n821950340_5827874_5166.jpg_effected

You gatekeep the food shelf with me, and let me eat from your top shelf and steal chewy bars when I’m hungry, provide me with a hot water kettle and multi-powerpoint plugs.

Even though you and I both know that half of that shelf was consumed by the boys, we both accepted our fate without complaints.. AND EVEN RESTOCK FOR THEM. Geez we’re nice people.

n821950340_6174920_749257.jpg_effected

YOU COME UP WITH NICKNAMES FOR EVERYONE WITH ME.

HAHA this is an extremely salient point in our friendship. I totally forgot about TWENTY ONE until I saw this photo. Nicknames for everyone got us through the semester with our sanity! And who would’ve thought they would continue TILL NOW. (G2 G2 G2 G2 G2)

n821950340_6483752_8102481.jpg_effected

You share the burden of having to entertain the guests who stop by our room for all sorts of reasons.

Rafi looking for instant noodles, Pete choosing ties for the farewell dance, Shamil for using the charger and my laptop and every other thing in between, Jarvis & Yong for your Iphone, Yushi for beer, Eric for… no reason because he just magically turns up in our corridor every night half-conscious, and lastly, HANS FOR – WELL – BOOTY CALLS. HAHAHAHA JOKES.

n821950340_6487370_1962053.jpg_effected

You soldier bravely with me during Spring Break at the risk of losing our lives due to Shamil’s bad driving (in general) and Jarvis’ angry driving in the mornings -AND did the admin planning/booking with me because we knew if we left it to the boys we’d be driving into a desert and sleeping on the streets..

n596267322_2353351_2726760.jpg_effected

You endure the presence of the Comfort Bear which I insisted on bringing along for Spring Break, which took up space in the car, in the bed, and ultimately in my luggage bag.

And also put up with my long rant on WHATTONAMETHECOMFORTBEAR and at the end of the day he is still unnamed.

n821950340_6498177_5885296.jpg_effected

You fly across Amerika with me for my crazy 2 day NYC 2 day Philly travel plan even though you didn’t have to (but this is closely related to the fact that you have an unlimited cashflow so maybe I shouldn’t give you all the credit. HAHA)

n821950340_6497966_4450756.jpg_effected

YOU INDULGE WITH ME IN STEAK IN NYC.

(This was another very important moment btw!)

Okay and these are just like the points I can illustrate using photos.

There are still tons of things like:

LETTING US CRASH YOUR VEGAS SUITE FOR FREE (we are eternally grateful), being my fellow PI during the G-GRAPES-BASEBALL period (constant updates via sms!! it kept me alive and not burning with anger the entire time), staying up in Yong’s room waiting for Shamil and I to return from Reggae, wallowing in self pity with me about our procrastination of work, and I think my biggest debt to you is still having to make you bear the burden of WMMS being your BFF towards the end.. in order to distract her from her sorrows (too many a time!). Oh, and of course being the go-between during those Korean drama worthy moments. (Not just mine, Shamil’s too!)

5969_220822145340_821950340_7908591_7739238_n.jpg_effected

And although we are constantly in the above manner most of the time..

AND YOU ARE  ESSENTIALLY STILL THE POOHDEVIL TO ME – I haven’t listed down your evil actions (namely, our last night of Spring Break which you don’t even remember, calling me a YOUKNOWWHAT HAHAHAHA that was legendary. As well as earplugging yourself from my snoring. Which I still maintain was cos I was sick. AND MANY MORE TALES I HAVE TO TELL.)

n821950340_6174903_3107888.jpg_effected

WE HAD ONE OF THE BEST TIMES EVER IN 747!

x

And I must admit I do miss your cynicism and dry humour every once in awhile. I can’t believe I’m admitting this. But yeah. BY THE WAY I am still considering you as a future bank that I can loan money from interest free, if I ever end up poor and on the streets.

AND NEXT YEAR IN JAN OUR LEGEND SHALL CONTINUE. (Hopefully!)

This video is still my personification of you:

(WARNING:)

This video might be regarded as mildly satanic and gets a bit creepy towards the middle. PARENTAL ADVISORY IS TO ONLY WATCH THE FIRST 30 SECONDS DUE TO THE USE OF VULGAR LANGUAGE AFTER. Poor pooh.

But honestly its the most hilarious thing I’ve seen in ages. I remember watching it in my room in Berkeley and I LAUGHED SO HYSTERICALLY that Jackie could hear me through her earplugs.

(YJ and I have a favourite takeaway action: the part where pooh starts chanting “sa-tan sa-tan” and does this 360 degree turn while his head is still in place. CREEPILY HILARIOUS MUCH.)

x

I’m actually talking to you online NOW. This shall never end.

ILU JACKIE SHHHH DON’T TELL YOUKNOWWHO :)

Leave a Reply

