GBC 50TH ANNIVERSARY: The funfair

18/08/2009

So this year Grace Baptist Church celebrated its jubilee year, 50 years of history and God’s faithfulness :) In conjuction with the celebration, we launched Family Day on 1 Aug, where the church grounds was turned into a funfair (WOOHOO) and we opened up our doors to the Mcpherson community and neighbourhood to share the blessings we’ve received – aka EVERYTHING WAS FREE.

There was a mountain of different kinds of food, desserts (THERE WAS A POPCORN MACHINE OMGED); and the youth did the games – inclusive of Gid being a walking sponge target – whilst I blasted music from the comforts of the stage. Hahaha Deborah for DJ! YEYA!

IMG_3004

IMG_3009

IMG_2998

IMG_3001

Tania’s game was THROW WHIPPED CREAM AT TANIA & TOBAYE’S FACE. Which is why she looks like that. Too bad I didn’t get to try my hand at it. And Tania and Tobaye kept running up to me and asking me to play GEE AND GENIE. HAHAHA.

IMG_3007

I just realised we were all wearing black tanks! Hoho.

IMG_2993

And as earlier mentioned, Gid as sponge target. I will not say much because later on I became the guest-sponge-target and that invited a long line of people and chanting of “AIM FOR THE HEAD!”. Not appreciated unless you are a cute little kid. Good thing the boys were prevented from playing when I was the target.. I don’t think I would’ve made it out alive.

Anyhow, as the funfair came to a close, the youth congregated on the stage at my DJ stand (mwahaha) and we attempted to conduct a spontaneous karaoke session with Shawna Wu doing the TPIZZLE SWIZZLE RAP into the mike in front of everybody. That was a pretty awesome moment. TANIA WHERE IS THE VIDEO. We followed up with MJ’s Heal the World, and that garnered a somewhat positive response until we couldn’t think of any other generic crowd-worthy songs to play. The karaoke session then fizzled down to Stacey, Shawna and Hannah singing to Disney, my preferred choice. Haha!

WE NEED TO HAVE ANOTHER FUNFAIR. ALL IN FAVOUR SAY AYE!

Leave a Reply

