The O.C. huntdown

20/06/2009

More LA recaps. THE GROVE (featured in I Love You, Man! Watch out for it if you’re watching the movie). REDONDO BEACH (apparently where most of THE OC beach locations were filmed according to this website). And last but not least, CRAB FOR DINNER. Which needs no elaboration. Crab has a universal reputation for gastronomical awesomeness.

First up, THE GROVE!

Page_7Page_8

Such a super pretty, quaint place for the rich & famous of LA to stroll, lounge, chill, push their adopted Afrikan/asian babies around (I kid you not. I spotted at least 3 couples with such) and walk their pedigree dogs. Boutiques, green lawns, bridges, a farmer’s market!, a tram (just for kicks), and a fountain. Every good place needs a fountain, I say. If I lived in LA, I’d go to The Grove every other day. It reminded me somewhat of Holland Village but with a more polished touch. Snazzaye.

Then it was vrroom vrroom to REDONDO BEACH in Orange County! Love this beach.

Page_9

Sorry you can’t really hear what I’m saying cos the wind is like really strong, but basically I ramble on about how THE OC FILMING LOCATION WAS HERE!!! *excite excite*

/edit I realised that at the end of the vid you can hear Yong’s attempt at an overly extreme Singlish accent – “O SEE VEE DEE YOOO!” HAHAHA.

Page_10

CROSS-REFERENCED EVIDENCE OF THE PIER IN THE SHOW:

Pier(400)

AND..

I FOUND THE BAIT SHOP!!!!!!!

IMG_9718

It was this old abandoned building that wasn’t in use. But I had a hunch.

BaitShop(400)

AND I WAS SO RIGHT!!!!! EVIDENCE OF THE BAIT SHOP IN THE SHOW.

I am content. I can die a happy person. THE OC, HOW I’VE MISSED YOU. WHY DID YOU HAVE TO DIE, MARISSA. WHY. A little of me died when that happened.. and as a result I refused to watch Season 4 cos I felt it wasn’t complete without Marissa :( However, Sarah Spottiswood has accused my OC loyalty as a result. Thus I think I might have to swallow the pain and cringe my way through Season 4, just to prove that I AM A LOYAL OC FAN! Okay enough fanfare, sorry about that.

Page_11

The proper BEACH. We spent alot of time watching cute little kids playing on the beach. Sooooo cute can. Anyway if you are wondering what is that black lump of thing in the photos, and if you REALLY want to know – IT IS A DEAD SEAL.

OMGED. IT WAS SO GROSS CAN. THE GROSSEST THING EVER. It was like a dead seal washed up on shore. And the white thing that you see is probably its SKULL cos the skin had been like eroded off. Omged I’m getting goosebumps typing this. I was so in denial I was like HAR NO LAH CANNOT BE but Yong was like YES IT IS PLEASE LOOK CAREFULLY and I was like EAAARGHHHH I AM SCARRED FOR LIFE. And the worst part was the children were happily playing in the sand really near it, totally oblivious.

SO DISTURBING.

xx

Okay that aside, after the beach we had dinner at JOE’S CRAB SHACK (not the OC crab shack, sadly) and had glorious HUMONGOUS crab. We had crab until we could not have crab anymore. It was a dinner to remember.

Page_12

Crab aka HAPPINESS!!! And pinkberry later on (DAPHNE! This is where we thought of you). And here is a video of the waiters at Joe’s crab shack doing their little dance. IT WAS SUPER CUTE. They did it like every half an hour I think. Hahaha very nice little dining gimmick.

What a happy place.

P.S. Check out super-into-the-dance asian dude in yellow cap. He must really love his job..

One Response to “The O.C. huntdown”


  1. […] boys for the waves in the tidal pool, making the trip to Redondo just because I wanted to see where The OC was filmed, those insane twelve hour drives to the middle of nowhere to see Salvation Mountain. And I have him […]


Leave a Reply

