Teeth sinking into heart

05/04/2009

My life is possibly one step closer to being complete now.

Thurs night was RACHAEL YAMAGATA IN CONCERT at Slim’s in San Francisco, and Greg Laswell opened the show for her – he played quite a few songs actually and surprisingly I think I enjoyed his segment more than hers, because 1. she played most of the songs from her new album, which were faster and more angsty – and everyone knows I love Yamagata for her sad slow heart breaking songs and 2. SHE WAS TOTALLY DRUNK ON STAGE. HAHAHA. She was rambling on and on about all sorts of things (which shall not be mentioned here) and we all concluded that she was drunk.

But THEN AGAIN THAT DOES NOT MATTER. SHE WAS STILL STELLAR.

Greg Laswell opened the show with What A Day.

What a way to say goodbye
What a wonderful life now all aligned
And what way that you survive
What a day to say goodnight

Bring on the evening hours I cried
Bring on the evidence of my life

AND THE FIRST SONG MY HEART PING PING PIANG ALREADY CAN.

At the beginning segment I was standing at the back of the crowd in isolation, feeling utter bliss of emoness by myself. Hoho what an awesome feeling. He also played his version of GIRLS JUST WANNA HAVE FUN – which is the first Greg Laswell song I had heard (thanks to Quentin Lee) – AND EVERYONE SHOULD GO LISTEN TO IT NOW AND CRY THEMSELVES TO SLEEP. YAY.

page_113

The pictures arent very goods but who cares. I took one video of Greg Laswell but none of Rachael Yamagata. Because I decided, screw it – I need to enjoy myself IN THIS BLISSFUL MOMENT OF AWESOMENESS instead of worrying about getting a good documentation of it. GOOD CALL DEBORAH.

YAMAGATA OPENED WITH. ELEPHANTS. *PIANG PIANG PIANG*

page_112

I stole Raphael’s beanie. SO NICE. I want to steal it permanently.

page_111

I love this photo. Please look at the symmetry. And how retarded Raphael looks.

But anyhow, these are the people who willingly paid 20 bucks to accompany me to watch the concert even though they had NO clue who Rachael Yamagata nor Greg Laswell was, and had never heard their music (okay, technically Shamil and Jackie tried desperately to cram in listening to a few songs on the train there hahahaha). I have such awesome friends :)

Later on the same night, we ended up in the 6th floor lounge eating 3 packets of RAMEN and falling asleep while Shamil and Raphael went on for AN HOUR playing a stupid “GUESS THE TITLE OF THIS SONG/INSTRUMENTAL OF A  MOVIE” game. Ohmygosh. Which just revealed how ancient they are with the era of their music. Shamil got very nostalgic when Ghostbusters was played. And Raphael has the STRANGEST collection of music, ranging from Beethoven to Star Trek theme songs to German folk tunes to Pink to PET SHOP BOYS. Aiyoma.

xx

It’s not about geography, or happenstance
You need to fly, & take a chance
You don’t need to soar to emptiness
Float on high, & forever dance alone

One Response to “Teeth sinking into heart”

  1. sze-ern Says:

    this is terrible i do not like her new album. guh! maybe by the time she gets to singapore she will decide that she’s too sick of the songs from Elephants…TSIH.


Leave a Reply

