WELCOME TO THE O.C.

22/02/2009

I am in the O.C.

Day One.
5am dodgy walk to the train, one hour dodgy train ride to the airport.
(Thank God for Yong)
$9 airport breakfast ripoff.
One hour of sleep, survival on PURE SUGAR/CAFFEINE.
Huntington Beach, surfer seals!
I love palm trees.
Newport Beach, frozen bananas and hot chocolate.
SITTING ON THE LIFEGUARD STAND WATCHING THE SUNSET. A RYAN MARISSA MOMENT. (Except Rochelle was Ryan okay this is just wrong.)
I love lifeguard stands. I need to buy one for my future home.
Chillicarcrabticket. (will not spoil our mood)
My first homecooked meal in ages.
11pm: the earliest I’ve slept since Jan 14th.

Day Two.
MY FIRST REAL ROADTRIP, complete with SINGALONGS AND HEADBANGING.
Our favourite station, KOST 103.5 – the BEST songs.
MALIBU.
Ridiculously expensive O.C. -esque houses.
THE BEACH THE BEACH BUT IT IS TOO COLD TO TAN SO SAD.
Seagulls surround us to attack our food.
Tiny baby birds DISAPPEAR before our eyes. Predator: THE WAVES. Very Traumatizing.
Three hours at the outlets.
A LONG DRIVE to eat PHO, their favourite Viet place.
Back in the apartment that has no furniture but a table.
I shall return to my sleepingbagbed.

Tomorrow morning we are visiting SADDLEBACK CHURCH! RICK WARREN! *flashback PDL video*

I just calculated expenses. I should NEVER convert USD to SGD. Never.

Quotes of the day:

Amanda: “OH MY TIANS” (HAHAHA ITS CATCHING ON, PEOPLE)

Deborah: “I HATE HOW MONEY ACCUMULATES.”

Lois: “A pattern of being random is an oxymoron.”

Rochelle: “THIS IS RIDICULOUS.”

Word of the day: Patronizing.

Song of the day: POKERFACE.

Thought of the day (after visiting all the gazillion beaches and having experienced and witnessed all forms of BEAUTY AND WONDER):

I need a boyfriend and a dog.

HAHAHA. I have spent one and a half days with Rochelle Flores and memories of my BAND DAYS are flooding back. Good talks about band days. Life lessons from band days. Character building, we say. And Rochelle is a very PATRONIZING host. HAHA. OUR PARALLEL WORLDS ARE COLLIDING. I cannot even believe that I am here.

2 Responses to “WELCOME TO THE O.C.”

  1. amelia Says:

    I told you he should have gone with you. muahahaha.. you’ll never hear the end of this. NEVA!

  2. Rochelle Says:

    PATRONIZING INDEED. After DRIVING myself to exhaustion, like LITERALLY. you didn’t mention Santa Monica and Victoria’s Secret. and contact lens solution and towel. HAHA.

    Let’s do another road trip in 5 years’ time, as is the custom. with GPS this time.

    wait. were you even here?! It’s like it never happened!


Leave a Reply

