Ode to.. one of the best :)

01/10/2008

,

HAPPY BIRTHDAY JON!
My favourite partner in indie-musicality, graceful aging, and far too many good times to keep count.
Thanks for the times man, and cheers to the years :)

And because Jon has had such a gr-EAT musical influence on me in the past two years, I’ve decided to do a little indie playlist – the following songs/albums all introduced by him, and the wonderful memories accompanying each song. HAHA.

1. Tennis Court Soundtrack by Daphne and Derby and Hey there Delilah by Plain White T’s

Specifics: World cup 2006, Toshi’s place at Tulip Garden. Jon and I were the few younglings amongst the oldies at that time, so whilst the rest were watching the match, Jon was introducing to me to these songs. This was before Hey There Delilah gained all the hype a year later! Foresight, we have. The beginning of awesome music sharing.

2. TMBG is probably Jon manifested in music. Hahaha who can forget the period of the tongue-twisting THE SUN IS A MASS OF INCANDENSCENT GAS, A GIGANTIC NUCLEAR FUUURRNACCEE being yelled at every opportunity (and I do mean literally, EVERY opportunity).

John Lee Supertasterrr (bitter fruits taste far more bitter, and sweeter fruits far more sweet. Oh goodness I actually remember this) being chanted at the back of vehicles incessantly by Gid and Jon, complete with wordforword narration at the beginning.

Oh, AND DR WORMI’m not a real doctor but I am a real worm! HAHAHA.

Also, TMBG’S New York City got me through the last phase of my road trip in 2007 in America. The streets are paved with diamonds and there’s just so much to see..

I officially hail this period of our lives THE TMBG RENAISSANCE.

3. Hello Goodbye, I Am the Walrus… culminated in Acrosstheuniverse Movie hype. Another monumental episode in the Gid&Jon show. Go check youtube. ‘Nuff said.

4. Tim, I Wish You Were Born A Girl. Possibly the most hilarious and catchy song everr. Once again, this marked a significant period of history where this song was being chanted and memorized NON-STOP wherever we went. At home, in the car, in church, meals.. it is truly awesome. Gid and I stumbled across this gem again that day while searching youtube. Memoriesssss.. oh I love this song.

5. Others include So long, so long by Dashboard Confessional, Know Your Onion! by the Shins, What Sarah Said by Deathcab, and so on and so on…. but these really take the cake :)

One more year to the big TWO- O Jon! Wait for it.

Leave a Reply

